The Gospels

What are the Gospels?

The word Gospel means "Good News."

There are four gospels that we find in the New Testament, which are: 

Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John

The first three of these are usually referred to as the "synoptic gospels," because they look at things in a similar way, or they are similar in the way that they tell the story. 

When Were the Gospels Written

A lot of criticism has been made of the gospels by people saying the the gospels were written hundreds of years after the crucifixion.

But John’s gospel, which was the last gospel, was written in about AD 90.

A fragment of a copy of John’s gospel has been found recently and dated somewhere between AD 90 and AD 120

This was a copy so the original must have been written before then.

His gospel was the last written so the others must have been before that. 

Possibly between AD 50 and AD 70.

When suggesting to new Christians about the order in which the Gospels should be studied, then it is probably best to suggest Mark first followed by Luke and then Matthew with John being studied last.

Of course it is perfectly alright to dip in and out of different Gospels when you wish to learn about specific aspects of Jesus' Ministry.

It is likely that Mark's Gospel was the first written.

Who was Mark?

Who was Luke?

Who was Matthew?

Who was John?